Reviews of Otherwise Award Winners

This is a list of Otherwise Award winners that are novels, including the retrospective winners in 1996. The Otherwise Award is a judged award for "science fiction or fantasy that expands or explores our understanding of gender."

There are no winner listed for 2019 and 2021 because the winners in those years were a short stories ("They Will Dream in the Garden" by Gabriela Damián Miravete and "Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon" by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki).

The date given on this page is the year that the award was given, since I standardize all awards to the year of the award. It will therefore be one year later than the official date on the award, which reflects publication date (except for the retrospective awards).

This award used to be called the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, named after Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote for years under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. It was renamed to the Otherwise Award in 2019.

2022 Ryka Aoki Light from Uncommon Stars 9 out of 10
2022 Rivers Solomon Sorrowland
2020 Akwaeke Emezi Freshwater
2018 Virginia Bergin Who Runs the World?
2017 Anna-Marie McLemore When the Moon Was Ours
2016 Pat Schmatz Lizard Radio
2015 Monica Byrne The Girl in the Road
2015 Jo Walton My Real Children 9 out of 10
2014 N.A. Sulway Rupetta
2013 Caitlín R. Kiernan The Drowning Girl
2012 Andrea Hairston Redwood and Wildfire
2011 Dubravka Ugrešić Baba Yaga Laid an Egg 6 out of 10
2010 Greer Gilman Cloud and Ashes
2010 Fumi Yoshinaga Ōoku: The Inner Chambers #1
2010 Fumi Yoshinaga Ōoku: The Inner Chambers #2
2009 Patrick Ness The Knife of Never Letting Go
2009 Nisi Shawl Filter House
2008 Sarah Hall Daughters of the North 7 out of 10
2007 Shelley Jackson Half Life
2007 Catherynne M. Valente In the Night Garden
2006 Geoff Ryman Air 10 out of 10
2005 Joe Haldeman Camouflage 7 out of 10
2005 Johanna Sinisalo Troll
2004 Matt Ruff Set This House in Order 10 out of 10
2003 M. John Harrison Light 7 out of 10
2002 Hiromi Goto The Kappa Child
2001 Molly Gloss Wild Life
2000 Suzy McKee Charnas The Conquerer's Child
1998 Candas Jane Dorsey Black Wine 8 out of 10
1997 Mary Doria Russell The Sparrow 8 out of 10
1996 Elizabeth Hand Waking the Moon
1996 Theodore Roszak The Memoirs of Elizabeth Frankenstein
1995 Nancy Springer Larque on the Wing 8 out of 10
1994 Nicola Griffith Ammonite 8 out of 10
1993 Maureen F. McHugh China Mountain Zhang 8 out of 10
1992 Eleanor Arnason A Woman of the Iron People 6 out of 10
1992 Gwyneth Jones White Queen 4 out of 10
1996 Suzy McKee Charnas Walk to the End of the World 3 out of 10
1996 Suzy McKee Charnas Motherlines
1996 Ursula K. Le Guin The Left Hand of Darkness 8 out of 10
1996 Joanna Russ The Female Man 6 out of 10

The second section are the retrospective awards.

Ratings for books that don't have a review are based on my memory of the book. The rating may well change if I get a chance to read the book again.

Last spun 2023-05-13 from thread modified 2023-01-29