Reviews of Compton Crook Award Winners

This is a list of Compton Crook Award winners, including ratings for those books that I've read and links to reviews where I've written one. The Compton Crook Award is given to the best English language first novel in the field of science fiction, fantasy, or horror, as determined by a vote of members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society.

2022 P. Djèlí Clark A Master of Djinn 7 out of 10
2021 Micaiah Johnson The Space Between Worlds 8 out of 10
2020 Arkady Martine A Memory Called Empire 10 out of 10
2019 R.F. Kuang The Poppy War
2018 Nicky Drayden Prey of Gods
2017 Ada Palmer Too Like the Lightning
2016 Fran Wilde Updraft
2015 Alexandra Duncan Salvage
2014 Charles E. Gannon Fire With Fire
2013 Myke Kole Shadow Ops: Control Point
2012 T.C. McCarthy Germline
2011 James Knapp State of Decay
2010 Paolo Bacigalupi The Windup Girl 7 out of 10
2009 Paul Melko Singularity's Ring
2008 Mark L. Van Name One Jump Ahead
2007 Naomi Novik His Majesty's Dragon 7 out of 10
2006 Maria Snyder Poison Study
2005 Tamara Siler Jones Ghosts in the Snow
2004 E.E. Knight Way of the World
2003 Patricia Bray Devlin's Luck
2002 Wen Spencer Alien Taste
2001 Syne Mitchell Murphy's Gambit
2000 Stephen L. Burns Flesh and Silver
1999 James Stoddard The High House
1998 Katie Waitman The Merro Tree
1997 Richard Garfinkle Celestial Matters
1996 Daniel Graham Jr. The Gatekeepers
1995 Doranna Durgin Dun Lady's Jess
1994 Mary Rosenblum The Drylands
1993 Holly Lisle Fire in the Mist
1992 Carol Severance Reefsong
1991 Michael F. Flynn In the Country of the Blind
1990 Josepha Sherman The Shining Falcon
1989 Elizabeth Moon Sheepfarmer's Daughter 8 out of 10
1988 Christopher Hinz Liege-Killer
1987 Thomas Wren Doomsday Effect
1986 Sheila Finch Infinity's Web
1985 David R. Palmer Emergence 9 out of 10
1984 Christopher Rowley War for Eternity
1983 Donald Kingsbury Courtship Rite

Ratings for books that don't have a review are based on my memory of the book. The rating may well change if I get a chance to read the book again.

Last spun 2022-12-12 from thread modified 2022-07-06