Reviews of John W. Campbell Award Winners

This is a list of John W. Campbell Memorial Award winners, including ratings for those books that I've read and links to reviews where I've written one. This is a judged award for the best SF novel of the year published in the United States (not to be confused with the former John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer that's awarded with the Hugos and has been renamed to the Astounding Award).

This award was not given in 2020 or 2021 due to the pandemic.

2019 Sam J. Miller Blackfish City
2018 David Walton The Genius Plague
2017 Lavie Tidhar Central Station
2016 Eleanor Lerman Radiomen
2015 Claire North The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
2014 Marcel Theroux Strange Bodies
2013 Adam Roberts Jack Glass
2012 Christopher Priest The Islanders
2012 Joan Slonczewski The Highest Frontier
2011 Ian McDonald The Dervish House 7 out of 10
2010 Paolo Bacigalupi The Windup Girl 7 out of 10
2009 Cory Doctorow Little Brother 7 out of 10
2009 Ian R. MacLeod Song of Time
2008 Kathleen Ann Goonan In War Times
2007 Ben Bova Titan
2006 Robert J. Sawyer Mindscan
2005 Richard K. Morgan Market Forces
2004 Jack McDevitt Omega 7 out of 10
2003 Nancy Kress Probability Space
2002 Robert Charles Wilson The Chronoliths
2002 Jack Williamson Terraforming Earth
2001 Poul Anderson Genesis
2000 Vernor Vinge A Deepness in the Sky 8 out of 10
1999 George Zebrowski Brute Orbits
1998 Joe Haldeman Forever Peace 7 out of 10
1997 Paul J. McAuley Fairyland 4 out of 10
1996 Stephen Baxter The Time Ships 4 out of 10
1995 Greg Egan Permutation City
1993 Charles Sheffield Brother to Dragons 7 out of 10
1992 Bradley Denton Buddy Holly Is Alive and Well on Ganymede
1991 Kim Stanley Robinson Pacific Edge
1990 Geoff Ryman The Child Garden
1989 Bruce Sterling Islands in the Net
1988 Connie Willis Lincoln's Dreams 7 out of 10
1987 Joan Slonczewski A Door Into Ocean
1986 David Brin The Postman 4 out of 10
1985 Frederik Pohl The Years of the City
1984 Gene Wolfe The Citadel of the Autarch 7 out of 10
1983 Brian W. Aldiss Helliconia Spring
1982 Russell Hoban Riddley Walker
1981 Gregory Benford Timescape 5 out of 10
1980 Thomas M. Disch On Wings of Song
1979 Michael Moorcock Gloriana
1978 Frederik Pohl Gateway 7 out of 10
1977 Kingsley Amis The Alteration
1975 Philip K. Dick Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said
1974 Robert Merle Malevil
1974 Arthur C. Clarke Rendezvous with Rama 3 out of 10
1973 Barry N. Malzberg Beyond Apollo
1970 Wilson Tucker The Year of the Quiet Sun

Also see the John W. Campbell finalists for a more comprehensive look at what received jury votes for the Campbell each year.

Ratings for books that don't have a review are based on my memory of the book. The rating may well change if I get a chance to read the book again.

Last spun 2022-12-12 from thread modified 2022-02-05