Reviews of British SF Award Winners

This is a list of BSFA (British Science Fiction Association) Award winners for best novel, including ratings for those books that I've read and links to reviews where I've written one. This award is voted on by the members of the British Science Fiction Association and the attendees of the annual Eastercon convention, and the novel must be published in the UK.

2024 Juliet McKenna The Green Man's Quarry
2023 Adrian Tchaikovsky City of Last Chances
2022 Adrian Tchaikovsky Shards of Earth
2021 N.K. Jemisin The City We Became 7 out of 10
2020 Adrian Tchaikovsky Children of Ruin
2019 Gareth L. Powell Embers of War 6 out of 10
2018 Nina Allan The Rift
2017 Dave Hutchinson Europe in Winter
2016 Aliette de Bodard The House of Shattered Wings
2015 Ann Leckie Ancillary Sword 9 out of 10
2014 Ann Leckie Ancillary Justice 10 out of 10
2014 Gareth L. Powell Ack Ack Macaque
2013 Adam Roberts Jack Glass
2012 Christopher Priest The Islanders
2011 Ian McDonald The Dervish House 7 out of 10
2010 China Miéville The City & The City 9 out of 10
2009 Ken MacLeod The Night Sessions
2008 Ian McDonald Brasyl 7 out of 10
2007 Jon Courtenay Grimwood End of the World Blues
2006 Geoff Ryman Air 10 out of 10
2005 Ian McDonald River of Gods 6 out of 10
2004 Jon Courtenay Grimwood Felaheen
2003 Christopher Priest The Separation
2002 Alastair Reynolds Chasm City
2001 Mary Gentle Ash: A Secret History
2000 Ken MacLeod The Sky Road
1999 Christopher Priest The Extremes
1998 Mary Doria Russell The Sparrow 8 out of 10
1997 Iain M. Banks Excession 8 out of 10
1996 Stephen Baxter The Time Ships 4 out of 10
1995 Iain M. Banks Feersum Endjinn
1994 Christopher Evans Aztec Century
1993 Kim Stanley Robinson Red Mars 5 out of 10
1992 Dan Simmons The Fall of Hyperion 8 out of 10
1991 Colin Greenland Take Back Plenty
1990 Terry Pratchett Pyramids 6 out of 10
1989 Robert Holdstock Lavondyss
1988 Keith Roberts Gráinne
1987 Bob Shaw The Ragged Astronauts
1986 Brian W. Aldiss Helliconia Winter
1985 Robert Holdstock Mythago Wood
1984 John Sladek Tik-Tok 5 out of 10
1983 Brian W. Aldiss Helliconia Spring
1982 Gene Wolfe The Shadow of the Torturer 8 out of 10
1981 Gregory Benford Timescape 5 out of 10
1980 J.G. Ballard The Unlimited Dream Company
1979 Philip K. Dick A Scanner Darkly
1978 Ian Watson The Jonah Kit
1977 Michael Coney Brontomek!
1976 Bob Shaw Orbitsville
1975 Christopher Priest Inverted World
1974 Arthur C. Clarke Rendezvous with Rama 3 out of 10
1970 John Brunner The Jagged Orbit
1969 John Brunner Stand on Zanzibar 8 out of 10

Ratings for books that don't have a review are based on my memory of the book. The rating may well change if I get a chance to read the book again.

Last modified and spun 2024-04-03