If you're reading this, the 9/9/99 thing must not be a problem

Cripes, only the 9th and I'm already burning up my precious supply of good luck for this month. Two near-accidents of the vehicular kind in a single day? Egads! Normally, this is something you see in real cities, not in podunk-land! It's just brimming over with wrongability. So far, the score for the month is one (1) attempted merge into a space currently occupied by another vehicle (namely, mine) and one (1) idiot turning left from the rightmost lane, across the path of an oncoming vehicle (namely, mine). Criminy. It's a good thing I'm a competant driver.

It's also a good thing I don't have much gadgetry-of-car. I mean, cell phones, CD players... onboard computers. Bah! Distractions that cause you to run into things. Normal car radio can be worked by touch, without ever glancing away from the road, as can Our Friend, the Tape Player. A particularly skilled person can also change tapes without ever looking away from the road (although bringing new tapes up into your field of view for a quick glance is generally recommended). But CDs? You can't even open the cases with one hand.

Clearly, what's needed are gadget-monkeys to keep track of all your car gadgetry, and, as an added bonus, fling feces at people who tailgate you.

In the "I can't tell, is this funny or just wrong?" category today, we have the Onion. "With four months worth of healing complete, vigorous security features in place, etc, jocks at Columbine are once more free to oppress the unpopular without fear of reprisal. 'You know,' remarked a cheerleader, 'I dont think a school where you are too afraid to beat up on the math geeks, drama fags and other nerds is a school I want to go to.'" Yeowch! There's always the part of you that says, "Hey, that's not funny. That's just too close to the truth." Then there's the other part of you that howls "Hey! That's a hoot! Why the hell didn't I come up with it first?!"

Moving right along...